Why I Won't Let It Go
2010-06-14

I dream I want to
place my soul inside you.
Want to
breathe you, be you-
the need to feel you;
overwhelming.
My lightning,
my bitter sky.
The answers, the answers
to ask why.
And everything I do
is an extension of you.
Constantly begging
and beckoning to
come unglued.
For some substance,
some subservience, renewed.
I can not love blind.
I'm not a canyon emptied
and fallen into to find!
I only know of yearning.
A deep, unconscious burning.
That of a wildfire that's left me
turning
into someone I don't understand.
If I could but put
my soul inside
another fragment of life...
Could I remain, unjustified?
Without the need
would I remain?
Without the need,
would I remain?

Yet I know I'll never know
shackled to my soul,
unable to let go.
I'll need the past.
Need the memory of who you loved last
to keep me from falling,
from tumbling fast
into the oblivion the love-host
offers and desires the most.
I need the past
to find a future again-
somewhere I can be written in.
Love's temptation of abandon
I am stronger than.
So with all my barriers,
and all my walls
I'm just a lover that never falls.

 

  Old - Mini Bio - New